AMQUA's Distinguished Career Award

Year Recipent   Year Recipent
2018 Giff Miller   2017 Cathy Whitlock
2016 Patrick Bartlein   2015 Eric Grimm
2014 Ernest L. Lundelius   2013 Paul Colinvaux
2012 William Ruddiman   2011 Kenneth Pierce
2010 George Frison   2009 Peter Birkeland
2008 William A. Watts   2007 W. Raymond Wood
2006 Thompson Webb III   2005 Richard Baker
2004 Stephen C. Porter   2003 John E. Kutzbach
2002 C. Vance Haynes, Jr.   2001 Margaret Bryan Davis
2000 Minze Stuiver   1999 Paul Martin
1998 John Andrews   1997 David Hopkins
1996 Herbert E. Wright, Jr.  


Cathy Whitlock

Cathy Whitlock

2017 AMQUA Distinguished Award 

Giff Miller

2018 AMQUA Distinguished Award     

AMQUA's Denise Gaudreau Award

The Denise Gaudreau Award for Excellence in Quaternary Studies was established in 1993 in recognition of Dr. Denise Gaudreaus dedication, accomplishments, and promise as an aspiring Quaternary scientist, whose life was taken prematurely by a rare form of Multiple Sclerosis.

The $500 award supports the early career development of women scientists in Quaternary studies. Female scientists in any field of Quaternary studies within two years prior to completing a Ph.D. are encouraged to apply. Membership in AMQUA and U.S. citizenship are not required. Selection will be based on scientific accomplishments, promise, and demonstration of original thinking.


Year Recipent  
2018 Michelle Chaput  
2016 Alexis Mychajliw  
2014 Tripti Bhattacharya  
2012 Lisbeth Louderback  
2010 Beth Caissie  
2008 Leila Gonzale      
2006 Christy Briles      
2004 Terri Lacourse      
2002 Martha Cary Eppes      
2000 Roslyn Case      
1998 Cynthia Froyd      
1996 Sara Hotchkiss  
1994  Marguerite A. Toscano  


Michelle Chaput

2018 AMQUA Denise Gaudreau Award

Catie Castagno

2018 AMQUA/CANQUA Best Student Presentation Award