Denise Gaudreau Award for Excellence in Quaternary Research

The Denise Gaudreau Award for Excellence in Quaternary Research

The Denise Gaudreau Award recognizes an outstanding female Ph.D. student for her scientific accomplishments and promise in Quaternary research. This award was established in 1993 in recognition of Dr. Denise Gaudreau’s dedication, accomplishments, and promise as an aspiring Quaternary scientist whose life was taken prematurely by a rare form of Multiple Sclerosis.

Applications: Woman-identifying current Ph.D. students in any field of Quaternary studies within three years prior to completing a Ph.D. are encouraged to apply. Membership in AMQUA is not required but candidates should be at a North American institution or conducting research focused on North America.  Selection will be based on scientific accomplishments relative to career stage, evidence of original thinking, and demonstrated promise in research. Emphasis will be placed on the quality (originality, thoughtfulness, thorough approach, impact, etc.) of all research outcomes including any published work, rather than solely on quantity of published papers. Applications and nominations are both welcome, and should include: up-to-date CV (no page limit); a statement summarizing research interests, accomplishments and goals (not to exceed two pages); unofficial copy of graduate transcripts (signed by the student’s graduate advisor); and (for self-applications) name, title/affiliation, email address and phone number of two referees who can speak to the applicant’s research accomplishments and potential. All applicants are retained as candidates for two award cycles. Award recipient will be announced prior to and will be recognized at the 2024 AMQUA Biennial meeting in August of 2024 in Salt Lake City, Utah, and will receive a monetary prize plus support to cover registration cost and some travel expenses to attend the meeting. Please submit applications/nominations to AMQUA secretary Colin Long at by April 22, 2024.



List of recipients:

Year Recipent      
2022 Cameron Batchelor      
2020 Laura Larocca      
2018 Michelle Chaput      
2016 Alexis Mychajliw      
2014 Tripti Bhattacharya      
2012 Lisbeth Louderback      
2010 Beth Caissie      
2008 Leila Gonzale      
2006 Christy Briles      
2004 Terri Lacourse      
2002 Martha Cary Eppes      
2000 Roslyn Case      
1998 Cynthia Froyd      
1996 Sara Hotchkiss  
1994  Marguerite A. Toscano  


Michelle Chaput

2018 AMQUA Denise Gaudreau Award

Catie Castagno

2018 AMQUA/CANQUA Best Student Presentation Award